Of Monsters & Men

Get on board now, because this band is going places in 2012.

Of Monsters & Men is a humble little Icelandic band that have blown up over the past couple months, riding the success of their breakthrough single, “Little Talks.”  Thank God for my local alt-station, WFNX, otherwise I wouldn’t have heard this wonderful song.  I can’t stop listening to it.  Thus, I thrust it upon you now, dear reader.

The music is heartfelt and triumphant, catchy and extremely hummable.  Rolling Stone‘s David Fricke called them the “new Arcade Fire” (and Iceland’s Mumford and Sons), which I think is a perfect summation of this band for the curious listener.  If grand crescendos, textured instrumentation and happy chorus-chants are your thing, then you’ll be as happy as I am to have discovered a new band.

When I first read about them, the band’s name confused me.  I thought they were either a hardcore band who were trying too hard to be scary (“ooooh, Monsters!  We’re so tough and dangerous!!!”) or a pretentious Fueled By Ramen joke band who were trying too hard to sound edgy and literate (“let’s make a play on Steinbeck but change ‘mice’ to ‘monsters‘ because we’re so hip and chicks will dig it, bro.”).  Alas they are just a folk band from the land of Bjork and Sigur Ros, sans loopy freakishness and fake language bullshit.

For their upcoming tour, their Boston stop was upgraded from a tiny hall in hipsterville to our downtown House of Blues.  And their debut album, My Head Is An Animal, hasn’t even dropped yet (out in “early 2012” via UMG).  I can already taste the inevitable indie-blog backlash that’ll happen when the masses discover the band…

Enjoy the “Little Talks” video.  It’s a gorgeous and playful little thing, a refreshing artistic bow by a band that we’ll be hearing a lot of in the coming months.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Of Monsters & Men

  1. clownonfire says:

    So not all Icelandic bands sound like Sigur Ros or Bjork… I should tell my wife.

  2. neilzyeung says:

    Yes, apparently some of them can sound pretty conventional ;P Though I’ve loved Bjork since the Sugarcubes, her recent output leaves much to be desired in terms of actual listen-ability…

  3. […] Gorgeous, magical little clip in the vein of Tim Pope’s old cutout videos (ref. Coldplay “Trouble“).  I’m hipster cred’ing this bitch too, as you can refer to my post from the beginning of the year. […]

Leave a Reply

